Art / Japanese Culture / Manga / Media / Otaku / Pop culture / Tradition / Traditional Performing Arts

Girls Like Japanese Traditional Performing Arts 女の子は伝統芸能が大好き

Recently, girl’s manga story captures traditional performing arts and it’s attracting attention in Japan.

Main character in those stories are girls.
They learn Japanese traditional performing arts,
Karuta, Japanese card game, or  Shodou,Japanese calligraphy and they determine to become a master of it.

I introduce two manga book today.

Chihayafuru
KODANSHA BILINGUAL COMICS

Chiharafuru

This manga comic is really popular in Japan.

<Story>
Main character Chihaya Ayase was surprised and attracted by 
a transfer student, Shin Nishikiya.
He talk to her that, “I strongly want to become a Karuta, Japanese card game, master in the future”,
when she was a just in primary school student.

She is going to be  interested in the world of the karuta with friends.
Four years after, they become high school students and aim at the seat of a karuta master.

So that the sense of speed peculiar to competition karuta, it’s totally reads sports comic.
In addition to it, a drama such as love and the friendship is included in the story.

Tomehane
SHOGAKUKAN COMICS

Next one is story about Shodou, Japanese calligraphy.

This manga was remade by TV drama. Drama info

Tomehane big image

<Story>
The returnee girl, Yukari Ooe, who is not really good at Japanese language in faintheartedness.

She met cheerful girl, Yuki Mochizuki, who are absorbed in practising a sports  of judo.

Those girls who has opposite character join calligraphy club, which are almost closed down due to shortage member,
by an unexpected coincidence.
However, They learn about Shodou’s deep history, and being attracted by the world of the Shodou.

The calligraphy club which was about to be over brings back normal for passion of Yukari and Yuki and aims at the national convention.

The knowledge of the calligraphy is included everywhere in the story.

Drama

When I learned English, I read an English comic.
It is recommended for the person who wants to learn Japanese from comics.

4 thoughts on “Girls Like Japanese Traditional Performing Arts 女の子は伝統芸能が大好き

  1. Thank you for recommending this. I am interested in calligraphy and will definitely watch the dorama.

    I agree that comics, anime and dorama are a very good way to practice a language! When Japanese people ask my advice about studying English, I always recommend that they start watching an English language TV show with Japanese subtitles, like for example ‘Friends’.

    • Hi. HARUKO-CHAN,
      I also study English by watching drama or leading cartoon. I still have many problem to listening to local Australian but, I will continue to study. As you know Japanese and English language have totally opposite grammar structure. I am sometime confused. European people speak English and own language very well . I wish in the future, Japanese education system change to be more English standard!!:)

      • Hi I’m Australian and personally i think that every one has a hard time with Australian. I came to live in America 3 years ago and i had to slow my speech down for everyone at school because i spoke to fast lol.

  2. Hi, TAMEIKA
    Thanks for commenting at my blog.
    I recognised from your comment that even Australian has sometimes problems in other country. When living in Australia, AU English is standard for me.
    I like people try to live other country and find out something differences.
    I think that It’s really value experiences!!

Leave a comment